Thompson-Nicola Regional District 50th Anniversary Test

The TNRD is celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2017


We will pose a weekly trivia question with a prize awarded each month to one of the respondents who has answered one of that month’s trivia questions correctly. On November 24th, the names of all of the respondents who have correctly answered a trivia question throughout the year will be entered into a draw for a 50th anniversary celebration prize.


The TNRD is celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2017. To commemorate this milestone, the TNRD will be holding local community events, having contests and sharing news and information about the TNRD throughout the year.

Our anniversary is a great opportunity for residents and property owners to get involved, tell us what works and how we can improve. It is also an opportunity for the TNRD to look back over these past 50 years to share our history and our accomplishments.


Throughout 2017, the TNRD will carry out a number of interactive contests that we hope will interest members of the public.

Writing Contest
From April 1st to May 31st, the TNRD will accept submissions for short stories featuring an aspect of the TNRD – this could be a location, an event or a person from history. The maximum length of a story will be 1,500 words and it can be any genre (examples: autobiographical, science fiction, mystery, etc.). A waiver form must be submitted with each entry allowing for the release of the names and publishing of the submission on the TNRD website and other promotion.
Upcoming Contests
  • Colouring Contest -- July 1st to August 31st
  • Photo Contest -- September 1st to October 31st


We invite you to celebrate the TNRD’s 50th anniversary at events throughout the regional district starting on October 10th . We welcome you to join us at a library location near you to meet your TNRD director and TNRD staff. Refreshments will be served.

Watch this space for news and details. We will engage with our residents and property owners, introduce our services to those who may not know what the TNRD does and take the opportunity to celebrate our successes. We are hoping to increase our profile and connect with residents through rotating events, contests and a dedicated webpage.


The TNRD was incorporated and held its first Board meeting on November 24, 1967. The provincial objective in creating regional districts was to more efficiently and economically deliver services to unincorporated areas of the province on a local, sub-regional and regional basis. In general terms, a regional district’s role is to provide (a) regional governance and services for the region as a whole, (b) a political forum for representation of its residents and communities and (c) a vehicle for advancing the interests of the region as a whole.

In 1968, regional hospital districts were created as co-terminus with the regional district.

In 1967, the TNRD was made up of the following areas:
In 2017, the TNRD is made up the following areas:
• Village of Ashcroft
• Village of Cache Creek
• Village of Clinton
• City of Kamloops
• Village of Lytton
• Town of Merritt
• Electoral Areas A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M & N
• Village of Ashcroft
• District of Barriere
• Village of Cache Creek
• Village of Chase
• District of Clearwater
• Village of Clinton
• City of Kamloops
• District of Logan Lake
• Village of Lytton
• Town of Merritt
• Sun Peaks Mountain Resort Municipality
• Electoral Areas A, B, E, I, J, L, M, N, O & P
Population 1967 -- 58,303 Population 2017 -- 132,663

The first functions undertaken by the TNRD included land use planning, building and plumbing regulations, street lighting, fire protection and mosquito control.

Today the TNRD operates more than 120 separate services. In addition to those listed above, the TNRD also delivers services for refuse, recycling, water, sewer, parks, trails and 9-1-1 just to name a few.

Historical Timeline - Chair of the TNRD Board

1967 -- 1969
David T. Rogers
Electoral Area "F"

Anthony Romano
City of Kamloops

A.R. McKay
Electoral Area "K"

1972 -- 1973
John Harwood
Electoral Area "A"

1974 -- 1979
W.E. Winter
Electoral Area "C"

1980 -- 1982
H. George
Electoral Area "B"

1983 -- 1986
Patricia A. Wallace
City of Kamloops

1987 -- 1989
Jack F. Lapin
Electoral Area "D"

1990 --1991
C.M. Marshall
Village of Chase

1992 -- 1994
Bob Ellis
Electoral Area "J"

1995 -- 1996
Vic Endean
Electoral Area "L"

1997 -- 1998
John Ranta
Village of Cache Creek

Rick Morgan
Electoral Area "P"

2000 -- 2002
Al Kemp
District of Logan Lake

2003 -- 2004
John Ranta
Village of Cache Creek

Stephen Quinn
Electoral Area "B"

2006 -- 2011
Peter G. Milobar
City of Kamloops

2012 -- 2013
Randy Murray
Electoral Area "M"

Bill Humphreys
District of Barriere

2015 -- Current
John Ranta
Village of Cache Creek

Weekly Trivia Question Results

Date Question Answer
April 2 - 8